GR Football Wins Prestigious Award

For the second consecutive year, the Longhorn football team was presented with the Houston Touchdown Club’s 5A Sportsmanship Team of the Year Award. This award is  presented  to the team who displayed the highest degree of sportsmanship on the field, as voted on by referees in the greater Houston area.

The other 5A finalists included Angleton, Austin (HISD), Bush, Jeff Davis (HISD), Elkins, Magnolia, Marshall, Goose Creek Memorial, Tomball Memorial, New Caney, North Forest (HISD), Spring Woods, Stratford and Yates (HISD). Tomball Memorial finished in second place, while Marshall finished third.  Kingwood and Concordia Lutheran were crowned champions of Class 6A and Class 4A/Private Schools,  respectively.

Head Coach Ricky Tullos, and assistant coaches Jens Anderson, Brian Ricci, Jared Sloan and Michael Swanigan were presented  the award along with senior fullback Garrett Brinneman, at the Houston Touchdown Club Award dinner. This award shows the discipline and respect instilled in the players through the coaching staff and their  parents.  “As a team, we always try to show respect to the other team and the refs, its just how we were all  taught how to play the game,” says Brinneman when asked about the award.

There is no doubt that the Longhorns will strive to win this prestigious award next year along with a state title.