Award Winners at the Houston Touchdown Club


Dr Fred Black

Left to right: Coach Tullos, Mikial Onu, Dr. Thomas Randle, Darius Anderson.

Houston Touchdown Club Coach of the Year Ricky Tullos’ team won the title in convincing fashion, besting Mansfield Lake Ridge 56-0 before a largely maroon-clad crowd in NRG Stadium.

The Longhorns were led by Darius Anderson, the Houston Chronicle’s and the Touchdown Club of Houston’s Offensive Player of the Year. Anderson rushed for more than 1,200 yards in just six playoff games. In the Championship, Anderson scored two touchdowns, one on the ground and another on a reception. He had 287 all-purpose yards and also had a 46-yard punt.